Happy 4th of July from the staff of Geer Services. We hope you have a safe and festive celebration with your family and loved ones.

The Fourth of July is not only a celebration of American independence but also a recognition of the struggles and sacrifices that were made in the pursuit of freedom and self-determination.

Below is a brief overview of the history of the Fourth of July holiday, in bullet points…

    Early American Colonies: The Thirteen Colonies in North America were territories of the British Empire in the 17th and 18th centuries.

    Growing Tensions: Throughout the mid-18th century, tensions between the colonies and the British government grew, particularly over issues of taxation without representation.

    First Continental Congress: In 1774, the First Continental Congress met and issued a declaration of rights, asserting their autonomy from Britain.

    The First Continental Congress was formed and convened on September 5, 1774. The meeting took place in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and was attended by delegates from twelve of the Thirteen Colonies (all but Georgia). The Congress adjourned on October 26, 1774. During this meeting, the delegates created a declaration of rights and grievances and also established The Association, which called for a boycott of British goods.

    Outbreak of the American Revolutionary War: Approximately 7 months after the First Continental Congress was formed, on April 19, 1775, the first battles of the American Revolutionary War were fought.

    The American Revolutionary War, also known as the American War of Independence, took place from April 19, 1775, to September 3, 1783. The war began with the Battles of Lexington and Concord in Massachusetts, and it officially ended with the signing of the Treaty of Paris in 1783.

    Second Continental Congress and Declaration of Independence: On July 2, 1776, the Second Continental Congress voted for independence. Then on July 4th, they adopted the Declaration of Independence, which was primarily authored by Thomas Jefferson.

    The Declaration of Independence was signed by 56 delegates from the 13 colonies. While Thomas Jefferson is credited with drafting the document, it was the result of a collaborative effort and was revised by the entire Second Continental Congress before being adopted.

    Celebration of Independence: The Fourth of July has been celebrated as the birth of American independence since then, with festivities ranging from fireworks, parades, and concerts to more casual family gatherings and barbecues.

    Legal Recognition: It wasn’t until 1870, almost a century after the Declaration was written, that Congress first declared July 4 to be a national holiday as part of a bill to officially recognize several holidays, including Christmas.

    Under President Ulysses S. Grant, Congress established four holidays in 1870: New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. These were initially recognized as holidays only for federal employees in the District of Columbia.

    On a side note, Alabama became a state on December 14, 1819, and was the first state to recognize Christmas as a holiday on December 24, 1836.

    God Bless America…

    Info and photo gleaned from OBAWEBSITE.COM

    Pin It on Pinterest

    Call Us Now